top of page

Decorating for Christmas when you have Nothing in the Bank.

I love Christmas. The joy, the cheer, the good will to men. It is a beautiful thing that once a year a vast majority of us take the time to be a little extra positive and selfless.

Now that I have my very own home to decorate my mind is running wild with ideas.

Unfortunately, my budget is $0. With a wedding, a honeymoon, a new car and a new home, there is no room for new christmas decorations ( I mean something's gotta give right?)

So I have been trying to think outside the box to bring a little bit of holiday cheer into our home.

I started with taking branches of bay leaves and Eucaplytus leaves from my wedding. I dried them out and formed them into a wreath. I know pine is more traditional - but something is better than nothing right?

I am actually a bit impressed with the way it turned out as I had no idea was I was doing. I ended up stringing some little lights I had on it and putting it on our front door.

Kenny had an old fake Christmas tree that is prelighted and covered in tinsel. So we put that up. Neither of us had any ornaments on hand so I decided to make some salt dough ones. I put 1/2 a cup of Cinnamon and a few tablespoons of nutmeg and All Spice to make them smell good.

They make our house smell like applesause oddly enough, but I love it.

I found the recipe on pinterest and it was real easy! You can find it here.

Kenny was disappointed to hear they were not edible and after making them I found myself being hungry for gingerbread. I am so glad the Coffeemate Holiday Creamers are out because I ran to Target and grabbed their gingerbread creamer for my morning coffee - Craving gone and with nowhere near the calories! You can click here to find a dollar off coupon on coffeemate creamers!

My final concern was the the dining room table. I used the LED Candles from our wedding. I used some old glassware from my grandmother to stack it. I wish I could put greenery or berries around them, but I know our cat would get into it.

This is my set up for Christmas Eve Dinner - I asked the florist at our local grocery store for just a stem of pine and she gave it to me for free! Then I bought a dollar pack of candy canes to make it a bit more festive!

So there we have it! Our small little start of the many Titus Christmas's to come! I can't wait to add new things each year (and when they are on sale!)


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page